The Wild Self: Celebrating the Sacred, Uncategorized

Nature Lineage

dana-and-eric-1978.jpg

“There is no environment ‘out there’ separate from us. The environment is embedded in us. We are as much a part of our surroundings as as the trees and birds and fish, the sky, water and rocks.” ~ David Suzuki

I was raised in the Deep South, on the land that the Chickasaw once called home.

The trees who brought me up were the Magnolia, Pine, Oak, Sweetgum, Dogwood, Eastern Red Cedar, Tulip Poplar, and Mimosa.

The winds who raised me carry cleansing and tornadoes and change.

The mountain who raised me was Woodall Mountain. The foothills who watched over me were Appalachian.

The waters who nourished me live in Hell Creek.

The great river who nurtured me was the Mississippi. The Red River helped make the way for me and witnessed the birth of my grandmother.

I was brought up by raped land and battlefields and determination and hope.

Mullein, Plantain, Chickweed, Wild Violets, Mint, and Sheepshire were my friends.

The forests who surround me are Tombigbee National Forest in the South, Holly Springs National Forest in the Northwest (who raised my mother), and Tishomingo State Park in the Northeast.

The Natchez Trace currently supports me and surrounds my home.

I was fostered by the fossils and coral and shark teeth of the Cretaceous period.

The land that raised me and supported my bones is composed of loam and clay and selma chalk and petrified wood and agate and carnelian.

I was taught by mud puddles and bees and a quarter horse named Baby.

cropped-p5230017.jpg

 

Who raised you?

1 thought on “Nature Lineage”

Comments are closed.