Sisterhood

I spent 5 days in Rock Island, IL, visiting with my girlfriends.  One friend lives about twenty minutes from here, one lives in Texas, and the other is from Massachusetts.
I am thrilled with the house Nessa has chosen for us; the river is right behind us, and we have our own dock.
I almost went to sleep while lying on that awesome dock.  There’s just something sacred about being gently rocked by the waves…
Hawks are everywhere, our neighbors have a handsome black male cat
*Sherry named him Puddin, and he seems fine with it*,
and our neighbor, Jerry, has a Marvelous black lab…
we don’t know her name either, but her dog tag says, “I’m not lost, I’m nosey.”, so we call her Nosey.  She is our mascot.
The first day here I was so excited!  As I was walking toward the dock, I noticed the back yard was FILLED with dandelion blooms!  Dandelion blooms!!  In October!!!  Who knew?  It gets so hot in MS that we said goodbye to dandelion blooms back around May.
So.  You KNOW I had to make us some amazing dandelion salve.  We had to drive all over the place (and the next state over) to find beeswax, but it was totally worth it.  :)
I think I was a little heavy on the beeswax, so it’s technically more like a dandelion salve “bar”.  LOL  But it feels gorgeous and smells like Dandelion Heaven.
I always learn so much about myself when I go on these yearly trips to be with my loved ones.
I am home now, filled with gratitude and dreaming about all of the wonderful herbal gifts I will be able to share with my “Sacred Self” sisters.  I’m sooo excited!
Trust
Dive deep
Internal work
Scream
Her Child
*bowing*

Dana

About Dana Tate Bailey

I am an herbalist, shamanic practitioner and CranioSacral therapist, specializing in integrative mind-body therapy, emotion-based therapies, Reiki and other forms of energy work, and I have a private practice at the Holistic Center in Tupelo, MS. The Holistic Center is a beautiful, peaceful space that caters to holistic practitioners, workshops, and various therapies.
This entry was posted in Herbal Experiences, The Wild Self: Celebrating the Sacred and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sisterhood

  1. McRuggles says:

    Dana, now I’m finally motivated to try to do something with the dandelions that I’ve been growing in a pot outside our Florida kitchen or at least consider doing something with them. Our black cat, Higgins, liked the pictures too.

    • Dana Tate says:

      I am so happy to hear that, McRuggles! :)

      I am one of those who fervently wishes that Everyone would love and use their dandelions. Or at least send them to me so I can. LOL Have a great day!

  2. Finally catching up with the blog world. Love the post and dandelion salve is a great idea, which I really should try some time.

    Michael

  3. Elisa's Spot says:

    OOOOOOOOOOO hey I’ve been clicking and looking and freeeeeeeeeeeetting about you! I changed how I follow thing a long while ago and the last post I noted was about the new land. Not sure how I missed your …being here now! :)

Leave a Reply

