Mimosa, “Silk Tree”, Albizia julibrissin

Albizia julibrissin

I am really excited to be working with Mimosa this year.  I had no idea she held so much medicine until I saw another herbalist’s post on Facebook.  After doing some research, I found that Mimosa has been used in Traditional Chinese Medicine for anxiety, depression, insomnia and stress.  They call her “The Tree of Happiness”.

I love how Mimosa is utilized for grief after any kind of loss.

I would really love to see more people take advantage of her healing properties; especially since Mimosa is so abundant (read: invasive).  I have read that people who are already taking medication for depression or anxiety should talk to their doctors before taking any herbal preparation that would alter any results… yada yada, so please take responsibility for your personal health if you are considering using this tree medicinally.  Also, if you are pregnant or wish to become pregnant, you may want to reconsider using this tincture; it is said to have strong blood moving properties.

That said, I would LOVE to know if this lovely, happy tree could assist people who are dependent on mood altering medicines.

Eastwest School of Planetary Herbology has some wonderful information on Mimosa.  Albizzia: The Tree of Happiness.

According to Planetary Herbals:  “Albizia was traditionally used to “calm the spirit” and relieve emotional constraint when associated with bad temper, bad mood, sadness, occasional sleeplessness, irritability and poor memory. It was believed to be especially useful for anyone experiencing profound heart-breaking loss.”

Another source suggests that Mimosa could be used for “breathlessness.”  If it is also used for anxiety, I could see where this would greatly assist in calming panic attacks if this is the case.  I would love to know if my herbalist friends have had experience with this.

I love how one source called Mimosa tincture a “Spirit tonic”… but I’m not so keen on seeing it called “Chinese Herbal Prozac.”  *shaking head*

Pulsemed said this about Mimosa:  “Cortex Albizzia Julbrissin (mimosa tree bark) is a TCM herb in the ‘Nourish the Heart and Calm the Spirit’ category.  It is traditionally used to calm the spirit and relieve emotional constraint when the associated symptoms of bad temper, depression, insomnia, irritability and poor memory are present.  It also relieves pain and dissipates abscesses and swelling due to trauma (including fractures).

The flower of the mimosa tree is also used to relieve constrained Liver qi, and calm the spirit when the associated symptoms of insomnia, poor memory, irritability, epigastric pain, and feelings of pressure in the chest are present.  Research has shown that the flower of the mimosa tree has a sedative effect.”

Mimosa is also used for chronic pain issues and inflammation.  I have not seen much information on the whys and hows of this, but here is some TCM info on Mimosa that I found:  Mimosa Cures.

According to my research, both the blooms and the soft, inner bark of the limbs can be used for medicine.  My mimosa bloom tincture will be ready to strain and use the middle of this month.  I will post personal experiences later.

Cheers!
~Dana

Update: 3/30/2013

Mimosa blossom, bark and leaf tincture has been an amazing ally for me. When I first tasted it, I was slightly overwhelmed with the “Ohmygawd-I-Just-Sprayed-Perfume-in-my-mouth” taste, but then I got used to it. Originally I made a tincture of just the blossom… so when I mixed the bark/leaf tincture with the blossom tincture, it tasted much better. Both tinctures *and the blend of the two* worked very well to treat grief, mild depression and lingering sadness over loss.

I would love to hear others’ experiences with this medicine.

About Dana Tate

I am a community herbalist and massage therapist, specializing in CranioSacral Therapy, emotion based therapies, Reiki and other forms of energy work, and I have a private practice at the Holistic Center in Tupelo, MS. The Holistic Center is a beautiful, peaceful space that caters to holistic practitioners, workshops, and various therapies.
This entry was posted in Tree Medicine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Mimosa, “Silk Tree”, Albizia julibrissin

  1. jeffstroud says:

    Great information Dana! Thank you! As I mentioned before, all those years ago we had a huge mimosa tree in our yard, the smell wonderful, yet there was something that annoyed family about, not sure what now?
    The small one that was growing in the garden, the ground hog had eaten most of the leafs off as well as the cucumbers…
    I look forward to you tincture experience!

  2. Dana Tate says:

    Thanks, Jeff! :) I’m so glad you stopped by! (((hug)))

  3. Pingback: July pictures and impressions | Southern Herbalist

  4. Maryellen says:

    Dana: First, please know how THRILLED I am to have found your site just now. I am a beginner herbalist (focus on the beginner part) and your blog is a wealth of information! I’m also relatively geographically close to you (Middle Alabama) so I am familiar with several of the plants you’ve discussed.
    I’m wondering, did you make your mimosa tincture with the flowers? I’m assuming the bark wouldn’t work well for a tincture, but the only ones I’ve made so far are passionflower and skullcap, so I’m not really sure.
    Thanks so much!!
    Maryellen

    • Dana Tate says:

      Hello Maryellen! I’m happy to have a new friend! :) Yes, I made my mimosa tincture with the flowers (you can also use bark/twigs, I am told… I may try that method next to monitor differences)

  5. Bridget says:

    Dana: Thanks so much for posting this! Since mimosa is so abundant, I would like to make my own homemade tincture using the blooms and bark. Can you tell me how your tincture turned out? Thanks so much!

    • Dana Tate says:

      Hi Bridget! My mimosa tincture turned out great. Very “perfumy” <–my new word…LOL but one adjusts to the taste over time; I don't know if the leaf/inner bark tincture has the same flavor or not; I think it's time to do a little more experimenting. :) I'm glad to have you with me! Feel free to post your experiences here too!

  6. Vicki Nelson says:

    I, too, am glad to find your site! I’m also glad to FINALLY find a reason others might appreciate about mimosas. Beautiful, pink, nice shade, hummingbird heaven werent good enough reasons for ‘em. So to make a tincture just fill a jar & cover with vodka?

    • Dana Tate says:

      Greetings, Vicki! :) Yes, I am thrilled and honored to promote one more wonderful reason to love Mimosa. Yes. Making a tincture is that simple. :) Just make sure your vodka is 100 proof to best extract mimosa’s properties, and leave it in the jar for at least 6 weeks, then strain and bottle. Deep peace, ~Dana

  7. Pingback: September pictures and impressions | Southern Herbalist

  8. Hi! I am just beginning to learn about herbs. So glad I found your website. Could you please let me know how you made your tinctures? Thanks!

    • Dana Tate says:

      Hi Wendy, so glad to see you here! :) I will have to do a post some time on the way I make tinctures, but if you follow Susun Weed’s examples from her website and youtube videos, you will do fine. Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Lauren says:

    Hi there, excellent article! What is the dose for the flower tincture?

    • Dana Tate says:

      I don’t give dose suggestions to others, but I will say that I personally take a dropper full and feel results within 20-30 minutes… will take another dropper full after a few hours if I feel I need it… I personally don’t take over 3 droppers full a day *and only if I really feel my symptoms are acute*. Hope this helps!

  10. My son and I have just been harvesting seeds from our large Mimosa tree. Looked for growing info on the internet and found that it has medicinal properties! How cool! Happy to have found your blog. Maybe the next time our trees flower we will try this tincture. They grow quite well in our climate and have loads of flowers!

  11. Lynda Brody says:

    I’m so excited to read this post. Thank you! I have a mimosa tree just outside my window and have been enjoying watching the hummingbirds and butterflies all summer. I’ve also been struggling a bit with depression and am excited to try this tincture. Do you have any advice for gathering the bark, flowers, etc?

    • Dana Tate says:

      Hi Lynda! I like to gather from mimosa when it is in bloom. I actually have found that I get great results with using a combined tincture of the flowers, bark and leaves.

  12. Christina says:

    I would love to try out a tincture of mimosa, but I have never seen one. Any ideas where one could acquire one?

  13. Vicki Nelson says:

    I’ve seen it sold as Albizia tincture at Whole Foods.

  14. Christina says:

    Well, a quick search of Amazon showed that I have just not been paying attention! Planetary formulas makes a tincture of the flower and bark, and HerbPharm makes one that looks like it’s just the bark… I am surprised that they don’t seem to include the flower too as they often have many parts of the same herb in a tincture. I am really curious to try this herb and see what happens.

    • Dana Tate says:

      I like to make a tincture of flowers only and a tincture of the twigs/leaves and inner bark. I was able to experiment with each of them. Personally, I ended up mixing them. :) I did feel that the blooms were a little more uplifting than the bark, twigs and leaves. A little more “floaty”… If someone were already ungrounded or had a tendency to space out easily, I would not give the flowers only; I would blend it all together or just give them the bark/stem/leaf tincture.

      • Christina says:

        I would love to be able to try the mix as you describe. Do you have any of that tincture left to sell?

      • Dana Tate says:

        I do have an ounce that I could send you. You may send 15.00 (12 + 3.00 shipping) to tupeloholisticcenter (at) gmail.com and send your full name and mailing address and I will get it right out to you. (Put in the space for notes that you are asking for an ounce of blended mimosa tincture.)

Leave a Reply

